-Josh James and Fred Lampropoulos to be inducted into the UTC Hall of Fame-

Jeff Bezos, CEO of Amazon.com, will offer his unique insights to Utah’s business leaders at the Utah Technology Council (UTC) Hall of Fame Celebration the evening of November 30 at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City. The annual event will induct Josh James, CEO of Domo and co-founder of Omniture, and Fred Lampropoulos, CEO of Merit Medical, into the UTC Hall of Fame.

“We are exhilarated to have Jeff Bezos, the number one CEO in America, help us celebrate this year’s Hall of Fame!” said Richard R. Nelson, president and CEO of the UTC. “As founder and CEO of the most successful e-commerce company on the planet, it will be an amazing experience for top executives in our industry and Utah’s business and community leaders to come together in this one-of-a-kind Innovation Economy event to listen to his insights.  Mr. Bezos is a fitting keynote for our two inductees — Josh James and Fred Lampropoulos, as nationally-recognized founders and longtime CEOs, who continue to make a huge impact on our state creating high-paying jobs and a progressive image.”

The Annual Hall of Fame event honors individuals with Utah ties who have made global contributions to the information-technology, life-science and clean-tech industries through new technology, innovation and leadership. This is the last week to register for this year’s black-tie event.

Jeff Bezos

Jeff founded Amazon.com in 1994 whose mission is to be Earth’s most customer-centric company.  Amazon offers low prices and fast delivery on millions of items; designs and builds the best-selling Kindle tablet; and empowers companies and governments in over 190 countries around the world with its leading cloud-computing infrastructure through its Amazon Web Services offering.  He was named TIME Magazine’s Person of the Year in 1999.

2012 Inductees:

Fred Lampropoulos

Fred has been a recognized leader in the medical device industry for more than 30 years.  After serving as the Chairman and Chief Executive of Utah Medical, Fred founded Merit Medical Systems, Inc. in 1987, where he currently serves as Chairman and CEO.  He has invented and holds almost 200 patents on devices used in the diagnostic and therapeutic treatment of cardiovascular disease.

Since 1987, Merit Medical has grown from a start-up company to a publicly-traded company forecasting revenues of approximately $400 million in 2012.  The company started in a small manufacturing facility in Salt Lake City and now has manufacturing and distribution capabilities in Salt Lake City and 10 other locations around the world.  With approximately 2,700 employees, Merit Medical has achieved a world leadership position in many areas.  He is committed to building a company of lasting value that will provide employment for thousands of families for years to come.

Josh James

Josh founded Domo in 2010 to disrupt the $14 billion business-intelligence market and change the face of enterprise software. Before Domo, he was the longtime CEO of Omniture, which he co-founded in 1996 and took public in 2006; and from 2006-2009, he was the world’s youngest CEO of a public company.

Omniture, the first enterprise SaaS/cloud company, was the number-one returning venture investment out of 1,008 venture capital investments in 2004, as well as the number-two-performing technology IPO of 2006. Omniture was also the fastest or second fastest-growing public company globally for three consecutive years. In 2009, Josh facilitated Omniture’s $1.8 billion sale to Adobe, which was the biggest M&A transaction in Utah at the time.

About The UTC Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame celebration is the year’s largest gathering of Utah technology executives. UTC invites members of Utah’s technology industries, as well as business and community leaders, to join in honoring this year’s inductees.

This year’s Hall of Fame inductees join past recipients Stephen Aldous, Alan Ashton, David Bailey, Dale H. Ballard, Bruce Bastian, H. Raymond Bingham, Nolan Bushnell, Greg Butterfield, Edwin Catmull, James Clark, Gary L. Crocker, Bernard Daines, David Evans, Philo Farnsworth, Mark Fuller, Stephen Jacobsen, Jim Kajiya, Alan Kay, Spencer Kirk, Michael O. Leavitt, Drew Major, Peter Meldrum, Raymond Noorda, Dinesh Patel, Shane Robison, Kevin Rollins, Mark Skolnick, James LeVoy Sorenson, David Spafford, Theodore H. Stanley, Thomas Stockham, Jr., Ivan Sutherland, Homer Warner and John Warnock.

In addition to Palladium title sponsor Domo and Platinum Plus sponsors Adobe and Zions Bank, other sponsors include General Atlantic, LANDesk, Oracle, KPMG, Utah Business, Century Link, ConsultNet, Crocker Ventures, Novell, Snapp Conner PR, SolutionStream, Wells Fargo and Workman Nydegger.

For more information or to register for the Hall of Fame, visit www.utahtech.org or call (801) 568-3500.  To be an event sponsor, please call or email dspann@utahtech.org.

About the Utah Technology Council

Utah’s premier professional association, the Utah Technology Council has grown 13 percent a year for the past ten years becoming the essential business resource for high-tech, life science and clean-tech companies seeking to achieve greater success.  At its core, UTC exists to foster the Growth of the state’s 7,000 technology companies, ensure Utah develops the highest Quality Workforce in the nation and attract an ever-increasing array of Funding. Members join UTC to share insights and connect with industry peers, counsel with government and academic leaders, and receive help from professional service providers and funding resources.  For more information on becoming a member of the UTC, please email dspann@utahtech.org or call (801) 568-3500.




UTC PR Contact:

Judy Young, Executive Director

T) 801-568-3500



PR Agency Contact:

Cheryl Snapp Conner

Managing Partner, Snapp Conner PR

P-801 994-9625

C-801 376-2158